New future Cabinet announced

Release Date: 10 May 2018

The Leader of the Liberal Democrat majority party at Richmond Council has announced his intended Cabinet today. This includes dedicated responsibilities for priorities such as: Air Quality, the Economy, Employment and Equalities.

Following last week’s local election, Cllr Gareth Roberts will be formally announced as the Leader of the Council at a full Council meeting on the 22 May 2018. His Cabinet Member colleagues will also be confirmed.

It his intention to appoint the below:

Cllr Liz Jaeger, of Whitton Ward, will be appointed as the Deputy Leader of the Council. In addition, she will be responsible for Housing and Community Safety. She will be responsible for driving more affordable housing in the borough, working closely with registered housing providers. She will also work with the local police to develop strategies for crime hot spots and tackle rising local issues such as social media bullying, moped crime and domestic abuse.

Cllr Alexander Ehmann, representing St Margarets and North Twickenham, will also be appointed as Deputy Leader. In addition, he will be responsible for Transport, Streetscene and Air Quality. His responsibilities will include addressing the state of the borough’s roads and potholes and delivering a borough-wide plan for 20mph speed limits. He will also seek to put in place an ambitious air quality plan, specifically looking at opportunities to reduce air pollution around schools and parks.

Cllr Piers Allen, who represents West Twickenham Ward, will be appointed as Cabinet Member for Adult Social Services and Health. He will lead on supporting vulnerable adults, ensuring high quality care for all residents. He will also look at expanding the borough’s Dementia Friendly community programme and improve partnership working with the NHS.

Cllr Geoff Acton, who represents St Margarets and North Twickenham Ward, will be appointed as Cabinet Member for Business, Economy and Employment (including property). In this role he will lead on protecting all local town centres, developing a healthy commercial and retail environment. He will also seek to remove red tape for local community events in town centres.

Cllr Martin Elengorn, who represents the Teddington ward, will be Cabinet Member for Environment, Planning and Sustainability. He will lead on major environmental areas including the continued fight against expansion of Heathrow airport. In addition, he will focus on improving the borough’s recycling rate, reducing fly tipping and working with local groups to protect parks and green spaces.

The new Cabinet Member for Children’s Services and Schools will be Cllr Penny Frost, who represents Ham, Petersham and Richmond Riverside ward. She will support the borough’s schools, looking to identify additional support for SEN provision. She will work closely with Achieving for Children, to ensure support for vulnerable young people.

Cllr Robin Brown, who represents Hampton Wick, will take on the Finance and Performance portfolio. He will be responsible for the Council’s financial management, as well as monitoring, challenging, and driving further improvement in Council performance. He will keep an oversight of many of the Council’s corporate functions, promoting an ‘open town hall’ environment.

Cllr John Coombs, of Heathfield Ward, will take on the role for Cabinet Member for Arts, Culture and Sport. He will promote and foster a strong arts and sports scene in the borough and lead on protecting local libraries. 

Cllr Michael Wilson of Heathfield ward, will be the new Cabinet Member for Equality, Communities and the Voluntary Sector. He will lead on the launch of a new, meaningful community engagement programme that will take democracy and decision-making out to local people. In addition, he will work closely with the many voluntary sector organisations in the borough who provide valued, local services. Cllr Wilson will be striving to make the borough accessible for everyone.

The Chairman of the Planning Committee will be Cllr Jonathan Cardy, from Fullwell and Hampton Hill ward.

The Chairman of the Regulatory Committee will be Cllr Helen Lee-Parsons from West Twickenham ward.

Cllr Gareth Roberts, said:

“I have always said that we want to make Richmond upon Thames a borough we can all be proud of and, together with my colleagues, we are committed to making Richmond the safest, greenest and fairest borough in the Capital.

“Together with my new colleagues, we will work with you – residents, businesses, voluntary organisations and community groups to create a safer and greener borough, one that is affordable for all, with the best local schools. We will be open and honest, engaging with the whole community to achieve our goals.”

Full list of Cabinet Members
Role Councillor
Leader Cllr Gareth Roberts
Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Housing and Community Safety Cllr Liz Jaeger
Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Transport, Streetscene and Air Quality Cllr Alex Ehmann
Cabinet Member for Adult Social Services and Health (including public health) Cllr Piers Allen
Cabinet Member for Business, Economy and Employment (including property) Cllr Geoff Acton
Cabinet Member for the Environment, Planning and Sustainability Cllr Martin Elengorn
Cabinet Member for Children’s Services and Schools Cllr Penny Frost
Cabinet Member for Finance and Performance Cllr Robin Brown
Cabinet Member for Arts, Culture & Sport Cllr John Coombs
Cabinet Member for Equality, Communities and the Voluntary Sector Cllr Michael Wilson

Notes for editors

If you are a journalist and would like further information about this press release, contact Elinor Firth on 020 8487 5159. 

Reference: P245/18

Updated: 31 May 2018