Virgin London Mini Marathon 2010

COVID-19: Sports update - March 2021

Following Government guidance, our Sport and Fitness Centres (including pools) are now beginning a phased reopening.

We are currently following the Government's 'Roadmap' for the reopening of our services.

Mini Marathon Runners Excel

The London Borough of Richmond upon Thames team achieved first place in the Virgin London Mini Marathon on Sunday 25 April 2010.

The borough’s team of 46 runners aged 11 to 17 years, assembled by Richmond Council’s Sports Development Team, performed strongly in every race. The race takes place over the last 3 miles of the main marathon course.

Competing against teams from other 32 London Boroughs and the City of London this was an outstanding performance from our young athletes.

Individual top ten places were achieved by girls 11 to 12 years, Josie Savill, 3rd place, Jaime Cubitt, 10th place. Boys 11 to 12 years, Jeremy Gschwendtner 8th place, Taras Kovalevsky, 10th place and boys 13 to 14 years, Hugo Fleming 6th place, Jamie Finnigan 8th place.

The London Borough of Richmond upon Thames teams all finished in the top five.

The Richmond team was selected at a trial held in Richmond Park at the end of January.

Team Richmond (boys)
Boys 11 to 12 years Boys 13 to 14 years Boys 15 to 17 years
Jeremy Gschwendtn Hugo Fleming Eoin O’Brien
Taras Kovalevsky Jamie Finigan Edward Smith
Aaron Farr Alexander Lloyd-Jones Adam Villard
Cory Mears Jonathon Oldfield Rory Atkins
Sam Tapper Robert Eveson Oliver Hewitt
Bertie Lloyd Alex Oram Roland Turnell-Ritson
Max Frost Matthew Benstead William Round
no eighth runner no eighth runner Luke Wilson
Team Richmond (girls)
Girls 11 to 12 years Girls 13 to 14 year Girls 15 to 17 years
Josie Savill Eliza Cottington Alice Hewit
Jaime Cubitt Ella Widdop-Gray Molly Riglin
Hannah Novakovic Anna Donovan Eve Edmunds
Emma Uren Jenny Miles Emily Johnston-Purvis
Florence Brill Kirsty Maxwell Florence Taylor
Hollie Hindley Bella Taylor Jocelyn Major
Isabella Wateridge Sakura Miyamoto Gaby Miles
Georgina Stewart-Fleming Roberta O'Farrell Kathryn Bryant

Updated: 21 June 2017