My Account

Community Heroes winners and nominees

In early 2024, we received over 150 nominations, highlighting all those people, groups and businesses who are willing to go above and beyond the call of duty to deliver the highest level of support and assistance within their community throughout 2023.

Award categories

View virtual event programme for Community Heroes Awards 2023 to meet all our shortlisted nominees.

Winners and shortlisted nominees

The winners and shortlisted nominees for each category can be found below.

Business contribution in the community

Winner: The Coach & Horses Pub - Barnes


  • Blitz Crossfit - Twickenham
  • Cafe Torelli - Kew
  • Sidra Lebanese Restaurant - Twickenham and Teddington

Communities together

Winner: Learn English at Home (LEAH) Volunteers


  • Brighter Together
  • SPEAR Health Link Service Volunteers
  • Richmond Mencap Working Together Volunteers

Community group of the year

Winner: Albanian Heritage Club (Gjurmë Iliriane)


  • Ham Parade Market Volunteers
  • Kew Village Market Volunteers
  • Linden's Little Larks

Community project of the year

Winner: The Hampton Hygiene Bank


  • The Purple Elephant Project
  • RUILS Allotment Group Project
  • Richmond AID Surplus 2.U

Environmental award

Winner: Kew EcoFair

Highly Commended: Amelia Hornsby


  • Joy Scurr
  • Andy Limbrick

Helping hands

Winner: Noorzera Sheikh


  • Sheila Roberts
  • Joanne Shaw and Meena Ladwa
  • Zeb Williams

Lifetime achievement

Winner: Veronica Schroter


  • Evelyn McGrath
  • Kathy Sheldon
  • Perminder Tamana
  • Denise Carr
  • Peter Kemmis-Betty
  • Gillie Kelly
  • Peter Willan
  • Sally Ford
  • Juliette Young
  • Ken Mason

Outstanding volunteer

Winner: Lt Cdr Martyn Mayger


  • Natasha Sorhaindo
  • Ute Barclay
  • Amanda Paterson Gray
  • Andrew Winrow
  • Victoria West
  • Jacqueline Johnson
  • Angela McGranaghan
  • Sarah Kearns
  • Michelle Wheeler
  • Wilma Atherton
  • Sue Torok
  • Marek Regan
  • Jill Warner
  • Angela Ambrose
  • Paula Mortimer
  • Mike Styles
  • Karina Telesia
  • Marilyn Hartland
  • Gunna Finnsdottir
  • Jean Wit
  • Peter de Winton
  • George Griffiths

Trustee of the year

Winner: Jenny Harris (space2grieve)


  • Joan Barnett (Elleray Community Association)
  • Sarah Wilson (The Barnes Fund and Walsingham Trust Lodge)
  • Ann Hagel (Habitats & Heritage)

Young person achievement

Winner: Jessica Stone


  • Jonathan Wang
  • Elliot Jenkins
  • Ham Youth Centre Architects Crew
  • Gabriel Le Boiteux
  • Amelia Hornsby

Updated: 20 May 2024

Stay up to date! Make sure you subscribe to our email updates.